intermittent cylinder 5 misfire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• intermittent cylinder 5 misfire

Hi. My name is Jason and Im new to firebirdv6.com. I have always loved General Motors products I started out when I first got my liscense with an 1981 Monte Carlo... I loved the car, but it was an old car and just turning 16 I didnt have the money to put into it. My next car was a 1991 Olds cutlass calais Quad 4, I liked that car, pretty fast for a four cylinder. Next was a 1988 Chevy Camaro... Whoa! Loved it. The styling, the performance, the handling. Great car, and Ive been in love ever since. I ended up wrecking the car and got rid of it, in the mean time i was driving a Pontiac 6000 STE till I found my new baby. A 1991 Camaro Convertible! Once again, I loved it, but wasnt that fast with the 3.1 v6 in it. I have kept the car stock and drove it around for years. I still have it today! after a timing chain broke in my 98 cavalier, I have found my new glory. The Fourth Generation Firebird. For a bone stock v6 this car has lots of power and matched with the five speed trans, it goes pretty fast. I've only had the car for a week and there was one problem that i noticed with it. The drivers side power window was broke. Well here in toledo, it was kind of chilly today so I left the car running in the driveway well i took the door panel apart. Turns out that it looked like someone else had tried to fix it before, but the bolts they installed came loose. I put new bolts in and adjusted the window so it works great now. After the repair, I took it for a spin down the expressway to see if there was any whistling from the window and when i was getting on the expressway, it seemed that the engine was miss firing.... I took it to the local Advance Auto and they ran the scanner on it and found it to be cylinder 5. I know that you all are probably going to tell me to change the spark plugs and wires, which i plan to do. But here it my dilema. The car was running