What does it mean to bore an engine? - FirebirdV6.com/CamaroV6.com Message Board

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What does it mean to bore an engine?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What does it mean to bore an engine?

Hi everybody. I'm still learning a whole lot about engines and how they work. So in general terms, what does it mean to bore an engine? I hear "bored .30", but I never know exactly what they're talking about. My only guess is it changes the displacement? Thanks ahead of time.

Th3 RiCk
    1998 A4 Pontiac Firebird

A cylinder's width is its bore. Bored .30 over means to widen the bore by .30".
    <a href=\"http://www.onid.orst.edu/~waltejam/\" target=\"_blank\">98 Bright Red Camaro</a><br />Too many mods to list....check my website

Comment

however, comma, I do belive yall meant .030 over. just looking out for the new guy ;)

and from OH I see, hmmm, new victom [img]graemlins/evilgrin.gif[/img]
      1978 Formula 461 in progress of being built :rock:
      2013 Ram 1500 Big Horn

former owner of 85 bird w/ 2.8 - 3.4 - 3800 II - 5.0
      94 comero 3.4

Comment

Ahhh... I see now. Thanks
        1998 A4 Pontiac Firebird

Comment

Another newbie question. [img]smile.gif[/img] If an engine has been bored will the pistons and rocker arms need to be changed? What kind of performance gains would you expect boring an engine to the max? Since there's more of an area for combustion would it be wise to add some type of forced induction and bigger injectors? Sorry if I sound stupid, because I am for the most part in this subject.
          Th3 RiCk

[ June 20, 2003: Message edited by: Th3 RiCk ]</p>
          1998 A4 Pontiac Firebird

Comment