This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 160*s of BULL****...

Ok, I finally got the time to go to City Garage and get my 160 thermo put in. Well, I walk in and talk to the guy. When I told him what I wanted he looked at me like a stoned monkey and replyed, "no you will be doing the wrong thing."
    I was like ummm how's that. He said it would 1.)make me fail emitions because my car would be 'thinking' its too cold and dump a TON of gas and therefore make me run bad, 2.)i would make my car 'revert' to a primitive state. That long ago they thought makeing a car run cooler would be better but they were wrong and I would receive no benefit of a longer lasting engine or cooler temps. Now, I think this is well... [img]graemlins/bs.gif[/img] BUT Im not a garage mechanic either. The only thing I can think of is there sure are alot of other peeps with lower t-stats in their ride. Which means NOONE will pass inspection and our cars are primitive apes. Anyones opinions? :D

[ June 13, 2002: Message edited by: Brett Garret ]</p>
    <b> \'95 Camaro 3.4L A4 <i>Rikku</i><br />AutoX - Drift - Street </b><br />\"Sideways is faster.\"

you don't need one until later in the mods process when you have detonation due to forced induction. for now, get a 180 put in. bolt-on mods don't make a lot of heat, unless you start advancing timing a lot like w/ a HPP3, jet chip, ect. the reason you wouldn't pass emissions is that the rings need to be warmed up to a certain temp. to seal entirely. blow-by causes HC levels to go up a lot, causing you to fail emissions. Get a 180 to lower temps a bit and contol detonation w/ basic bolt-on's. later, if you bore/stroke your engine or add a sc/turbo, then get a 160 to control detonation.
    2001 Arctic White Firebird<br />More mods than I\'m allowed to list!

Comment