X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ATTN: Gmtech1005

Hi,

welcome to firebird V6!

I have a question for you that I haven't been able to find answers for.
    Being a pontiac technician I thought you might be
    able to answer it.
    I've been trying to get rid of that pesky top speed governor;since the aftermarket doesn't offer
    anything for the '96 V6 F-body I've been thinking
    about using a "wide open throttle switch" to apply an additional source of electrical power to
    the fuel pump(I've been told that the PCM limits
    top speed by cutting power to the fuel pump)
    Do you think this might work? if not, do you have
    any other ideas??

hi, thanks
    I don't think that it is the fuel pump that the pcm turns off, but I checked out the system on SI2000..(GM's online sevice information site)anyway and found the following.

Fuel Cut Off Mode
    The PCM has the ability to shut OFF the fuel injectors completely or selectively when certain conditions are met. This fuel shut off mode allows the powertrain to protect itself from damage and also improve its driveability.

The PCM will disable the injectors under the following conditions.

Ignition OFF (prevents engine run-on).
    Ignition ON but no ignition reference signal (prevents flooding or backfiring).
    High engine speed (above red line).
    High vehicle speed (above rated tire speed).
    Extended high speed closed throttle coastdown (reduce emissions and increases engine braking).

Fuel RPM cut off ranges:

Important
    These RPM cut off ranges may vary according to PCM calibration, axle ratio, tire size, and tire rating.

Park and Neutral - 4000 RPM
    Reverse - 4000 RPM
    Drive - 5950 RPM

© Copyright General Motors Corporation. All Rights Reserved.
    1998 Pontiac Firebird