oil and oil filter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• oil and oil filter?

Hey everyone im still a big newbie and its almost time for my 1st oil change. I saw a post on here somewhere where someone was using mobile 1 oil and that they could tell a difference. So i was wondering if there is a difference in oil. So if anyone could help me out and tell me a good brand of oil and an oil filter i would be very appreciative. Tyler a.k.a. MAX
    2001 v-6 camaro K&N filter so far.

Hey man,

First oil change yessssssssssssss hahaha! From what I heard, using a synth. type of oil will aggrivate (sP?) leaks and gaskets on more higher mileage cars, but since yours is a 01 you should be alright. It is supposed to increase performance a little and be better on the ole engine, which is true to some degree. But the MOST important part about it is keeping your schedule on your oil changes. I usually do mine every 2500 miles, mobil 1 will not help you if you change at huge lengths. Good luck buddy!

p.s. I always use the k&n oil filter, feels safer, a little more expensive but hell you're already using sythn. oil lol. You can just excuse it because they come with a really nice bolt thingie coming out the top so you can get it off with ease! But since I have a higher milage car, I use the Valvoline Maxlife, which doesn't apply to yours.

[ December 16, 2002: Message edited by: raxxus ]</p>
    RedLineVSix <br />95 Patriot Red Trans Am, M6, 3.42\'s,no rear tires<br />(SOLD!)97 Silver Camaro 3.8 Liter A4 3.42 + LSD, 1pc DS, and one messed up speedo :)

Comment

check my sig, I went to mobil 1 at 7800 miles and i had no leaks. i dont know if i could tell a difference though.