need help with my truck TONIGHT

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help with my truck TONIGHT

so my dads f150 starting leaking diff fluid out of the right rear axle at the wheel. Ive never done an axle seal before and didnt have time to try so he took it to a shop by the house. apparently theyre saying that the axle shaft is bent and needs replacing along with all the bearings and seal. also hes having the rear brakes done while there.

i was driving it when it starting leaking and i didnt hit anything or anything out of the ordinary. im no expert but ive never heard of an axle shaft just bending out of nowhere with absolutely no damage to the rear end housing or anything else on the car.

also the truck takes full syn 75w140 and he says theyre charging him 50 bucks a quart. wtf? it costs like 10-15 bucks a quart everywhere else, even at my shop and we are not a very cheap shop. theyre charging him $150 dollars just for ****ing fluid.

another thing that makes me question this place is I put tires on the truck midway through last winter and at the time the ball joints were loose as ****. you can feel and hear that the front end is loose on the truck so my dad told him to check out the front end to see what all it needs. The guy says the front end is all tight and the ball joints are perfectly fine. WHAT THE ****? you can be ****ing retarded and drive that truck for 30 seconds and tell somethings loose

anyways tomorrow is my day off and my dad works so im going up there in the morning to raise some major hell. so i need to know how to tell if an axle shaft is bent. will it be visible to the eye? or do you need a tool to measure if its straight? any other advice on what i should do or say when i go up there tomorrow would be helpful.

oh and the bill is well over 1100 dollars. doesnt sound right to me.

Re: need help with my truck TONIGHT